Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Read ALL THE BOOKS Update: February/March

If you don't know what this post is about, you can read this introduction post. Basically, I realised I have way too many unread books on my physical shelves, and so I'm going to try read as many of them as possible in the coming months. I'll probably continue this feature until I finish them all...but I don't know whether that will actually happen seeing as though I keep buying books. And borrowing books from the library. And requesting eARCs. Tis a problem.

My definition for "unread" either means that I haven't read the book at all, or that I haven't read that particular copy of the book (might have read it before as an eARC or something)

Well, it's now Week 10 of hospital placements, and I'm now at a hospital closer to my house woo! No more (too) early mornings. The past nine weeks of my clinical placements were at a hospital which is freaking far away (in Adelaide terms, anyway), and we had to come it at 7am some days, which is gross. And had resulted in me doing a lot of napping, which is something I don't normally really do. The whole getting up early and then going home and napping situation meant that I haven't really read as much as I normally do on weekdays, but I do set aside some reading time on the weekend, so I've still been reading a fair bit.

Oh, and I also discovered that SARAH J MAAS IS FREAKING COMING TO ADELAIDE MY GOD SO EXCITED I CAN'T EVEN. The good thing about Adelaide bookish events is that there usually aren't that many people lol. More one on one time with Sarah J Maas! I'll probably just be standing there in silent awe of her beauty though, let's be honest.

Sunday, March 29, 2015

Review: Endangered by Lamar Giles

Title: Endangered
Author: Lamar Giles
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller
Source: HarperTeen via Edelweiss
Goodreads





Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga's I Hunt Killers.

The one secret she cares about keeping—her identity—is about to be exposed. Unless Lauren "Panda" Daniels—an anonymous photoblogger who specializes in busting classmates and teachers in compromising positions—plays along with her blackmailer's little game of Dare or . . . Dare.

But when the game turns deadly, Panda doesn't know what to do. And she may need to step out of the shadows to save herself . . . and everyone else on the Admirer's hit list.
Review by Nara

Friday, March 27, 2015

Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

Title: Liars, Inc
Author: Paula Stokes
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller
Release Date: 24 March, 2015
Source: HarperTeen via Edelweiss
Goodreads


For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV's How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called "Captivating to the very end," Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.
Review by Nara

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Under the Radar Recommendations


This post is a part of Contemporary Conversations, hosted by The Thousand Lives and Talking Bookworm.

Evident from the title, this post will be featuring those underrated books that everyone should read! In general, I feel like there are actually a lot of books that are hyped up around the blogosphere that haven't quite been a hit with the general public readership- books like Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas and Golden by Jessi Kirby. This post won't be talking about those books. This post will feature those books that haven't even really been seen too much around the blogosphere- true under the radar recommendations.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Review: Every Last Promise by Kristin Halbrook

Title: Every Last Promise
Author: Kristin Halbrook
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Release Date: 21 April, 2015
Source: HarperTeen via Edelweiss
Goodreads



Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate's sexual assault.

Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn't supposed to. But she hasn't told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night--about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer.

Now Kayla's coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything--and everyone--she ever cared about.
Review by Nara

Sunday, March 22, 2015

Contemporary Conversations Challenges 1 & 2


This post is a part of Contemporary Conversations, hosted by The Thousand Lives and Talking Bookworm.

Challenge 1:
Book Spine Poetry- Pretty self explanatory


Since you've been gone: Confess. Attachments?
On the fence.
Second chance summer?
Maybe someday.
I'll give you the sun?
The beginning of everything



Challenge 2:
In a Gif- Use a single gif to describe a book!

Confess by Colleen Hoover


From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a new novel about risking everything for love—and finding your heart somewhere between the truth and lies.

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…


Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins


Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister's shadow and back into Lola's life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.



The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

There's death all around us.
We just don't pay attention.
Until we do.

The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn't look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she's just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that's all she'll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there's a secret she hasn't told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex's brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn't have to be real to keep you from moving on.

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a gorgeous and heart-wrenching story of love, loss, and letting go.







Saturday, March 21, 2015

Review: Not in the Script by Amy Finnegan

Title: Not in the Script (If Only... #3)
Author: Amy Finnegan
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance
Source: Bloomsbury Australia
Goodreads


Millions of people witnessed Emma Taylor’s first kiss—a kiss that needed twelve takes and four camera angles to get right. After spending nearly all of her teen years performing on cue, Emma wonders if any part of her life is real anymore . . . particularly her relationships.

Jake Elliott’s face is on magazine ads around the world, but his lucrative modeling deals were a poor substitute for what he had to leave behind. Now acting is offering Jake everything he wants: close proximity to home; an opportunity to finally start school; and plenty of time with the smart and irresistible Emma Taylor . . . if she would just give him a chance.

When Jake takes Emma behind the scenes of his real life, she begins to see how genuine he is, but on-set relationships always end badly. Don’t they? Toss in Hollywood’s most notorious heartthrob and a resident diva who may or may not be as evil as she seems, and the production of Coyote Hills heats up in unexpected—and romantic—ways.

This novel in the deliciously fun If Only romance line proves that the best kinds of love stories don’t follow a script.
Review by Nara