Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Review: None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

Title: None of the Above
Author: I.W. Gregorio
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Source: Balzer + Bray via Edelweiss
Goodreads


A groundbreaking story about a teenage girl who discovers she was born intersex... and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school. Incredibly compelling and sensitively told, None of the Above is a thought-provoking novel that explores what it means to be a boy, a girl, or something in between.

What if everything you knew about yourself changed in an instant?

When Kristin Lattimer is voted homecoming queen, it seems like another piece of her ideal life has fallen into place. She's a champion hurdler with a full scholarship to college and she's madly in love with her boyfriend. In fact, she's decided that she's ready to take things to the next level with him.

But Kristin's first time isn't the perfect moment she's planned—something is very wrong. A visit to the doctor reveals the truth: Kristin is intersex, which means that though she outwardly looks like a girl, she has male chromosomes, not to mention boy "parts."

Dealing with her body is difficult enough, but when her diagnosis is leaked to the whole school, Kristin's entire identity is thrown into question. As her world unravels, can she come to terms with her new self?
Review by Nara

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

So This Is What People Mean by a Book Hangover: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J Maas
Genre: (Mature) Young Adult, High Fantasy, Fae
Source: Bloomsbury Australia
Goodreads


A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
Review by Nara

Monday, May 18, 2015

Review: Omega City by Diana Peterfreund

Title: Omega City
Author: Diana Peterfreund
Genre: Middle Grade, Science Fiction
Source: Balzer + Bray via Edelweiss
Goodreads


The first middle grade novel in an exciting new series from acclaimed author Diana Peterfreund, perfect for fans of The Goonies and The City of Ember.

Gillian Seagret doesn't listen to people who say her father's a crackpot. His conspiracy theories about the lost technology of Cold War–era rocket scientist Dr. Aloysius Underberg may have cost him his job and forced them to move to the middle of nowhere, but Gillian knows he's right and plans to prove it.

When she discovers a missing page from Dr. Underberg's diary in her father's mess of an office, she thinks she's found a big piece of the puzzle—a space-themed riddle promising to lead to Dr. Underberg's greatest invention. Enlisting the help of her skeptical younger brother, Eric, her best friend, Savannah, and Howard, their NASA-obsessed schoolmate, Gillian sets off on a journey into the ruins of Omega City, a vast doomsday bunker deep inside the earth,.

But they aren't alone inside its dark and flooded halls. For while Gillian wants to save her dad's reputation by bringing Dr. Underberg's secrets to light, there are others who will stop at nothing to make sure they stay buried . . . forever.
Review by Nara

Saturday, May 16, 2015

Review: Rogue by Julie Kagawa

Title: Rogue (Talon #2)
Author: Julie Kagawa
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal Fantasy
Source: Harlequin Teen via NetGalley
Goodreads


Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues. But Ember can't forget the sacrifice made for her by the human boy who could have killed her—Garret Xavier Sebastian, a soldier of the dragonslaying Order of St. George, the boy who saved her from a Talon assassin, knowing that by doing so, he'd signed his own death warrant.

Determined to save Garret from execution, Ember must convince Cobalt to help her break into the Order's headquarters. With assassins after them and Ember's own brother helping Talon with the hunt, the rogues find an unexpected ally in Garret and a new perspective on the underground battle between Talon and St. George.

A reckoning is brewing and the secrets hidden by both sides are shocking and deadly. Soon Ember must decide: Should she retreat to fight another day…or start an all-out war?
Review by Nara

Thursday, May 14, 2015

The Book that Makes Me Want to Read More Memoirs: A Work in Progress

Title: A Work in Progress
Author: Connor Franta
Genre: Non-Fiction, Memoir
Source: Simon & Schuster Australia
Goodreads


In this intimate memoir of life beyond the camera, Connor Franta shares the lessons he has learned on his journey from small-town boy to Internet sensation so far. Here, Connor offers a look at his Midwestern upbringing as one of four children in the home and one of five in the classroom; his struggles with identity, body image, and sexuality in his teen years; and his decision to finally pursue his creative and artistic passions in his early twenties, setting up his thrilling career as a YouTube personality, philanthropist, entrepreneur, and tastemaker.

Exploring his past with insight and humor, his present with humility, and his future with hope, Connor reveals his private struggles while providing heartfelt words of wisdom for young adults. His words will resonate with anyone coming of age in the digital era, but at the core is a timeless message for people of all ages: don't be afraid to be yourself and to go after what you truly want.

This full-color collection includes photography and childhood clippings provided by Connor and is a must-have for anyone inspired by his journey.
Review by Nara

Saturday, May 9, 2015

Reading Compatibility Test 4: High Fantasy


Basically, I'm going to give you a list of statements that you have to agree or disagree with. If you have any idea what book/series they're referring to, it means that you've probably read some of the books that I've read, i.e. our reading tastes are somewhat compatible. I thought it'd be more interesting doing this in quiz form than me just listing off some of the books that I enjoy. Really, this feature is going to be a series of disguised recommendation posts!

Time for another Reading Compatibility Test! This time: High Fantasy.

High/epic fantasy is basically my favourite genre to read, mostly because I'm a huge world building reader, and obviously the typical high fantasy would have much more world building than a contemporary or a paranormal. I just love to see the creativity and thought that authors put into constructing the little details of their worlds. One of the (many) reasons why Brandon Sanderson is my favourite author (I tried to steer away from the Sanderson in this edition- he's written so many books that I could probably do a Sanderson specific edition haha)

Anyway, you've probably heard me go on about Sanderson a billion times haha, so onto the statements!

1. You know that winter is coming. (start off with an easy one)
2. You occasionally chat to cats with spots to see if they chat back.
3. You could rattle the stars. You could do anything, if you dared.
4. You want to join the Greatcoats.
5. If you're facing a semi-powerful wizard, you won't foolishly steal his evil amulet and make off with it (unlike a certain character in a certain book)
6. You know that you can be more than words in the dark.
7. You like to play a game to help your control over your brain function where one half of your mind hides something and the other half of your mind has to try find it. (Yeah, I don't think that makes any sense either...)
8. You know the name of the phenomenon where you come out on top of the bid, but only by paying a steep price.


Let me know whether you were able to tell which books each of the statements refers to.
Otherwise, just let me know if there are any that you're unable to answer! Maybe you'll find a new book/series to read.







Thursday, May 7, 2015

Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Title: The DUFF
Author: Kody Keplinger
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Source: Hodder via NetGalley
Goodreads


Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “Duffy,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now. Desperate for a distraction, Bianca ends up kissing Wesley. And likes it. Eager for escape, she throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with Wesley.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out that Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.
Review by Nara