Sunday, April 20, 2014

Review: Tease by Amanda Maciel

Title: Tease
Author: Amanda Maciel
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Release Date: 29 April, 2014
Source: Balzer + Bray via Edelweiss
Goodreads | The Reading Room


Emma Putnam is dead, and it's all Sara Wharton's fault.

At least, that's what everyone seems to think. Sara, along with her best friend and three other classmates, has been criminally charged for the bullying and harassment that led to Emma's shocking suicide. Now Sara is the one who's ostracized, already guilty according to her peers, the community, and the media.

During the summer before her senior year, in between meetings with lawyers and a court-recommended therapist, Sara is forced to reflect on the events that brought her to this moment—and ultimately consider her role in an undeniable tragedy. And she'll have to find a way to move forward, even when it feels like her own life is over.

In this powerful debut novel inspired by real-life events, Amanda Maciel weaves a narrative of high school life as complex and heartbreaking as it is familiar: a story of everyday jealousies and resentments, misunderstandings and desires. Tease is a thought-provoking must-read that will haunt readers long after the last page.
Review by Nara

Friday, April 18, 2014

Reading Update (18/4/13)


Aaaaand it's time for another update.
I don't really have anything to say.
Except that I recommend everyone read this deleted interlude from Words of Radiance. Don't worry, you don't need to have read ANY of Sanderson's works to read this (although it does have slightly more meaning if you've read WoR). It's extremely clever and just some really excellent writing- so I do recommend you read it. It's quite short- only a few paragraphs.
Anyway, onto the update!

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Review: The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa

Title: The Forever Song (Blood of Eden #3)
Author: Julie Kagawa
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian
Release Date: 15 April, 2014
Source: Harlequin Teen via NetGalley. Thank you!
Goodreads | The Reading Room



VENGEANCE WILL BE HERS

Allison Sekemoto once struggled with the question: human or monster?

With the death of her love, Zeke, she has her answer.

MONSTER

Allie will embrace her cold vampire side to hunt down and end Sarren, the psychopathic vampire who murdered Zeke. But the trail is bloody and long, and Sarren has left many surprises for Allie and her companions—her creator, Kanin, and her blood brother, Jackal. The trail is leading straight to the one place they must protect at any cost—the last vampire-free zone on Earth, Eden. And Sarren has one final, brutal shock in store for Allie.

In a ruined world where no life is sacred and former allies can turn on you in one heartbeat, Allie will face her darkest days. And if she succeeds, triumph is short-lived in the face of surviving forever alone.
Review by Nara

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Review: Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins

Title: Sweet Reckoning (The Sweet Trilogy #3)
Author: Wendy Higgins
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
Release date: 29th April, 2014 (also known as MY BIRTHDAY, WOO!)
Source: HarperCollins via Edelweiss, thank you!

Average Goodreads rating: 4.61 out of 5.00 (440+ ratings)
Goodreads | The Reading Room


It’s time.

Evil is running rampant and sweet Anna Whitt is its target. Nobody knows when or how the Dukes will strike, but Anna and her Nephilim allies will do anything necessary to rid the earth of the demons and their oppressive ways.

The stakes are higher than ever, and Anna is determined that the love she feels will be her strength, not a liability. But trying to protect the ones she loves while running for her life and battling demonic forces proves to be perilous—especially as faces are changing and trust is fleeting. When the Duke of Lust sends Anna’s great love, Kaidan Rowe, to work against her, Anna must decide how much she’s prepared to risk.

In the most sensual and fast-paced installment yet, Sweet Reckoning brings all the beloved Neph together one last time to fight for their freedom.

Review by Chantelle

*Contains only VERY MINOR SPOILERS for the first two books in the trilogy, should be okay if you haven't read them*

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Review: Starling by Fiona Paul

Title: Starling (Secrets of the Eternal Rose #3)
Author: Fiona Paul
Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction
Source: HarperCollins Australia. Thank you!
Goodreads | The Reading Room



In the stunning conclusion to the Secrets of the Eternal Rose trilogy, there is nothing more dangerous that a secret closely kept... Cass and Luca are fugitives, on the run from the law and the deadly Order of the Eternal Rose. As they separate to pursue the only evidence that could save them, their worlds-and their romance-are torn apart by spiteful friends and murderous enemies. When Cass finds herself ensnared in the Order's twisted plot, Falco emerges once again as her only hope for freedom. But it turns out Luca has a shocking scheme of his own. From ancient mercenaries to sly magicians, from clever courtesans to vengeful killers, no one can be trusted. In the breathtaking conclusion to the Secrets of the Eternal Rose trilogy, Cass must confront the Order and once and for all decide her destiny. Who will fly beside her when she finally finds her wings? This historical romantic thriller is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory's The Other Boleyn Girl, Anna Godberson's The Luxe, and Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty and The Diviners.
Review by Nara

Friday, April 11, 2014

The Search for the Panacea [6]: The Lazy Edition

So...this Search for the Panacea is called the Lazy Edition because I didn't have time to film. Well, that's not strictly true. I did have time to film, but then fell into the abyss that is TV shows (God, Reign. SUCH a guilty pleasure...) and so didn't want to film. So you get photos instead haha. Sorry about the terrible foto skillz (still better than Chantelle's lol #cobloggerlove)

This is my book haul for the month of March.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

How to get into the mood... for the DIVERGENT movie!


Today is the day that that high-budget, highly anticipated, incredibly hyped up film, DIVERGENT, is out in Australia! I'm so nervous about seeing it. I'm both ecstatic about the cast, and so so nervous about the cast, and whether they've been able to make this book-adaptation into everything I've hoped for. For people that don't know, I am a HUGE fan of Divergent, and Insurgent... not so much Allegiant, but that's a topic for another day. After the anticlimaxes of City of Bones, and Vampire Academy, I didn't really want to get my hopes up about DIVERGENT but! the good reviews have been pouring in, so why not get ourselves hyped up.

So here are some promotional YouTube videos that I don't think you'd have seen, full of dramatic music, actor featurettes (any opportunity to see Shailene Woodley's amazing eyes should be incentive enough) and quick action snippets that are sure to get you into the mood.